In Our Day...: Reminiscences and Songs from Rural Perthshire

In Our Day...: Reminiscences and Songs from Rural Perthshire


  • Author(s): Margaret Bennett
  • Genre(s): Oral History; Scottish Culture; Customs & Folklore; Non-Fiction
  • ISBN: 978-1-907676-02-4


IN OU DAY...: Reminiscences and Songs from Rural: Life in the glens and villages of Perthshire is viewed through the eyes of shepherds, farmers, crofters, estate workers, housewives, gardeners, professionals, trades-people and children. They all share reminiscences, stories, games, sayings and rhymes in Scots and Gaelic, which have been recorded for this book. Excerpts of transcriptions have been woven together by folklorist Margaret Bennett who also draws strands from written records. Perthshire singer and tradition-bearer Doris Rougvie has also illustrated the book, which concludes with a selection of Perthshire songs. Along with several friends, Doris and Margaret have recorded all the songs for a CD enclosed within the book. A Grace Notes Scotland Collection.


01 The Auld Hoose/Robyn Stapleton
02 The Loch Tay Boat Song/Doris Rougvie with Margaret Bennett
03 Busk, Busk Bonnie Lassie/Sarah Walker, Keith TMSA Festival 2010
04 Huntingtower/Doris Rougvie & Joe Aitkin
05 Queen Amang the Heat her/Sheila Stewart
with Margaret Bennett & RSAMD students
06 The Spring o' Twenty-Eight/Duncan A MacNab
& chorus
07 The Rowan Tree/Doris Rougvie
& Margaret Bennett
08 Luinneag/Rena Gertz, Margaret Bennett
& RSAMD students
09 The Land o' the Leal/Kirsty Law with
Imogen Poropat & Eilidh Firth (Fiddles)
10 The Braes Of Balquhidder/Claire Hastings
11 The Lass of Glenshee/Alistair Iain Paterson
on Piano with Margaret Bennett & RSAMD students
12 The Laird o' Cockpen/Margaret Bennett
& rainy day workshop Singers, Ecotay Perth
Ontario, August 2010
13 Will Ye Come Back Again/Craig Muirhead
(Piano & Vocal) and Chorus
14 Griogal Cridhe/ Margaret Bennett with Martyn Bennett
15 The Freedom Come-All-Ye/Margaret Bennett & the TMSA at the Scottish Parliament 2007.

This CD also features cars, combine harvesters, coughs, creaky chairs, cups, glasses, mosquitoes, rain, tractors, walking sticks and more.
All songs traditional except 'The Freedom Come-All-Ye' (Hamish Henderson with thanks to Kätzel Henderson for permission).
All tracks were recorded in the informal setting of a kitchen cèilidh in 2010, with the exception of ‘Busk, Busk’ (TMSA session), ‘Huntingtower’ (at Red Barn Studios, 2008, thanks to Stuart and Gillian), ‘Griogal Cridhe’ (Scotch Malt Whisky Society festival cèilidh, 1996), ‘The Laird o’ Cockpen’ (in the Kitchen of ‘Ecotay’, Perth, Ontario and ‘The Freedom Come-all-Ye’ (the Scottish Parliament, 2007).
Thanks to: Ainsley Hamill, Alistair Iain Paterson, Avery Risling-Sholl, Claire Hastings, Craig Muirhead, Doris Rougvie, Duncan MacNab, Edward Seaman, Eilidh Firth, Elizabeth MacNab, Imogen Poropat, Joe Aitkin, Kirsty Law, Margaret Bennett, Mariann Fraser, Michelle Melville, Rena Gertz, Robyn Stapleton, Sarah MacNeil, Sarah Walker, Sheila Stewart, The chorus at the Plough Inn, Keith, and from Perth Ontario: Annie Dalton, Christie McLeod, Connie Cairns, Diane Marnis, Elizabeth Rymal, Gary Glover, Isabelle L'Heureux, Janet Coward, Joanne Griffin, Lionel King, Lyse DuFour, Marilyn Dugas, Mary Elizabeth James, Mary Stewart, Michael Glover, Pat Cairns, Sharon Kellar, Sìne McKenna, Susan Green, Ralph Willsey and a host of friends who shared our céilidh.

Share this product

Built with HTML5 and CSS3 - Copyright © 2012 Margaret Bennett - Web Design by Xtensive